Natural Remedies

{Remedies} Homemade Cough Syrup

Cough RemedyIf your house has been as coughy as mine has these last few months, this recipe will help.  When my girlfriend sent me a Pinterest link for a natural cough syrup I was a bit skeptic. The last one tried didn’t work; but after listening to my daughters cough up toenails, I had to try it.

It not only helped their cough, it also cleared out their sinus’ and cured their sinus headaches. BEWARE though, this cough syrup is spicy and may not be suitable for small children. Please use your own judgement.

Here it is; my notes are in italic:

Homemade Cough Syrup
from Good Food Matters

NOTE: This recipe contains honey. Children under the age of one should NEVER, under any circumstances, consume honey. 

¼ teaspoon Cayenne
¼ teaspoon ground Ginger – if using fresh, increase the ginger to 1/2 tsp.
1 Tablespoon Cider Vinegar (an organic one, like Bragg’s, is preferred.) – I used what I had on hand.
2 Tablespoon Water
1 Tablespoon Honey (use a locally produced raw honey, if possible.)

In a small jar, combine cayenne and ginger in cider vinegar and water. Shake to dissolve.  Add honey and shake well. If the honey doesn’t “blend” well, place the bottle in warm-hot water for a minute or two.  Shake to combine.

Shake before each use to remix the ingredients.  If the honey crystallizes, set the jar in a warm water bath for a few minutes and shake to combine.

Dosage:
Adults: 1 Tbsp as needed for cough.  Because I cannot tolerate a lot of spicy heat, I take a 1/2 Tbsp as needed.  This works well for me. 

Children:

The original author of this recipe does not recommend giving this syrup to children.  Many people have commented on her post with successful dosages for their children.  To see those recommendations, please visit the comment section of the post.  The following dosage is based on what I have given my own daughters.  If you choose to provide more of less to your own children, this is your personal choice.  I have found the following works well – especially when followed by a glass of water, tea, or 7-up:

6-6 1/2 yrs: 1/2 tsp – I started with a 1/2 tsp each and it was perfect for them. If needed, I could go up to 1 tsp. 

Storage:  Author note: “If you make this in small batches as the recipe is written, there is no need to refrigerate. If you prefer, you may refrigerate this. It keeps as long as you need it.”

 

 

Share with me

