Natural Remedies

{Naturals} “Vitamin C” Tea

b4u_vitcteaDecember was a rough month for my family. So to boost our immune systems and kick the bugs out of system faster, I hit the internet and found Mommypotamus and “kool-aid” Tea.

If you are like me, you see the words Rose Hips and Hibiscus and run, but  let me say this, when made properly, they can be mighty tasty! Especially when it is sweetened with honey 🙂

Did you know that one rose rip contains more Vitamin C than four lemons! Combine that with the vitamins of oranges and lemons, and the nutrients of the hibiscus flower and you have yourself one mighty powerful drink!

The first time my daughter and I made this tea it turned out horrible!!!  As we played with it, it became better and better. The trick is finding the right balance for you. For us, we use 1-2 Tbsp of “Vitamin C” mix in 4 cups of water (1 quart) and add 3-4 Tbsp (approx. 1/4 cup) of honey.  

 “Vitamin C” Tea
adapted from Mommypotamus: Spices Rack Remedies for Cold and Flu

NOTE:  Because most of these ingredients are harvested by machine or by hand, they can contain bits of nature in them. Please make sure to sift through your herbs before using them to remove anything that should not be there (goat heads, rocks, twigs, etc).

3 parts rose hips – I used 4 tbspb4u_vitctea(2)
1 part hibiscus – I use 2 Tbsp
1 part lemon peel –  We used dried. If you cannot find them at your local health food store, try making your own.
1 part orange peel – We used dried. If you cannot find them at your local health food store, try making your own

Honey or dark maple syrup to sweeten

Gently combine herbs in a bowl, or zip lock bag.

In a medium sauce pan, pour 1 quart of water and add 2-3 Tbsp of the mixture* and bring it to a boil.  Reduce heat and simmer for 20 minutes.

Remove from heat and strain into a clean bowl/container.  If using honey as a sweetener, add it now.  I use 3-4 Tbsp of honey, but you can use more or less. Allow the mixture to cool and store in the fridge.  I allow the tea to come to room temperature and then cool it in the fridge the rest of the way.

If you are using maple syrup, allow the mixture to cool and add in the syrup.  Stir to combine. Store in fridge.

*Note from Author: Per quart of water, add two or three tablespoons of the herbal mixture (depending on how strong you want to make it).

Makes 3 1/2 cups of tea.

Store in an air tight container in the fridge.  Lasts up to 2 weeks.  If it starts tasting dusty or dirty, discard it.

In our family, my daughters drink approx. a 1/3 – 1/2 cup of tea 1-2 times per day over ice.  My husband and I drink a cup to two cups a day.  If you are unsure on how your child will react to the herbs, start small and increase the amount accordingly. If you use honey, do not give to child under the age of 1. 

Please note that I am not a herbalist, or a doctor. This is just what works for my family.

~*~*~
Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “{Naturals} “Vitamin C” Tea

  1. I really enjoyed making this tea. I did make some changes because I have a kid who cannot have orange. I put lime peel instead. It is so delicious! When my four year old isn’t feeling well, she asks for my special tea. I will use a tablespoon of dry ingredients per 16 oz of water when I make myself one cup. I highly recommend this tea!

Share with me

