Baking

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Dip – Yep, you read that right!

I had to interrupt my previous blogging, and all that I was doing, to tell you about this AMAZING new site.  First though, I have to admit that I was a bit skeptical about a few of her recipes, how good could chocolate chip cookies be without eggs and butter?  I mean, come on, a chocolate chip dip made out of beans?!

I have to say I happily ate my words!  Katie of Chocolate Covered Katie is a genius! It is with much delight that I tell you you must eat this Cookie Dough Dip!  Yes, it is made with ingredients that are going to make you go “hmmm,” and you will think, there is no way my picky little eater is going to eat this.  Oh, but let me tell you, they will and they will want more!

Katie even has a sugar-free version, for those who wish a little less sweet in their cookies.

Here it is; my notes are in italics:

1 1/2 cups chickpeas or white beans (1 can, drained) (250g) – we used 1 can of white beans, drained and rinsed well
1/8 tsp plus 1/16 tsp salt – we used the slightest amount of celtic sea salt, only because it is was the only salt I had
tiny bit over 1/8 tsp baking soda
2 tsp pure vanilla extract
1/4 cup nut butter (You can get away with using only 3 tbsp. If you use peanut butter, it’ll have a slight “pb cookie dough” taste, so if you don’t want this, try the recipe in this link instead. Just don’t bake it.)* – we used 3 Tbsp of peanut butter and it was perfect
up to 1/4 cup milk of choice, only if needed – we used a 1/4 cup of rice milk
2/3 cup brown sugar – you can use less sugar, we used 1/3 cup, or you can use 3 Tbsp, go according to your desired sweetness level.
1/3 cup chocolate chips
2 to 3 tbsp oats (or flaxmeal) (You can omit for a thinner dip.)* – we used 3 Tbsp oat flour – which is just finely ground up oatmeal.

* Depicts the notes provided in Katie’s recipe

Add all ingredients (except for chocolate chips) to a good food processor (not blender), – in her blog Katie notes that some commenters have used a blender with good results, but that she was unable to reproduce these results herself. We used our blender and blended it until very smooth with great results – and blend until very smooth.  Then mix in the chocolate chips.

Serve with graham crackers or eat plain, like we do!

~*~*~

You cannot taste the beans, and my daughter’s ate it up!  And I have very picky eater  😀  Great job, Katie!  I’m hooked.

~*~*~

Enjoy!

Share with me

