Baking

Scallion Goat Cheese Muffins – Grain free, Gluten-free

I have to admit, I am a goat cheese junkie; I LOVE goat cheese, in every flavor.  So when I saw this recipe in Gluten-Free Cupcakes by Elana Amsterdam, I knew I had to try them.

While my daugthers didn’t care for the goat cheese, my husband and myself loved it.  The goat cheese provided extra moisture to the cupcake, and the slight tartness of the cheese paired perfectly with the scallions.

Normally the cooling time on Amsterdam’s cupcakes are an hour, but, not for these! I only had to wait 20 minutes – after baking – for these delicious cupcakes!

Needless to say, I am in love!  This is going on the table for Mother’s Day. 🙂

Here it is; my notes are in italics:

Scallion Goat Cheese Muffins
Gluten-Free Cupcakes by Elana Amsterdam

1 1/2 cups blanched almond flour – we used Trader Joes Almond Flour, or  make your own
1 teaspoon sea salt – we used celtic sea salt because I had it on hand.  Any will work fine.
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp black pepper
1/4 c olive oil – we substituted Grapeseed Oil for olive oil and they turned out fine
3 large eggs – can substitute duck eggs for chicken eggs
1/2 c thinly sliced scallions, white and green parts – we used the ends of the scallions and the kitchen shears to make thin slices. Worked wonderfully! Something my children can help, too!
5 ounces goat cheese (10 Tbsps) – we used Kirkland Signature Fresh & Creamy Goat Cheese, but you can also use Chevré. I think maybe next time, I might try them with a herb goat cheese.  I also cut the cheese into piece to help with the assembly later.

Preheat the oven to 350*. Line the cupcake pan with 10 liners.

**I used my kitchen aid on low, instead of a handheld mixer. I do not believe it hurt the cupcakes at all.**

In a large bowl, combine the almond flour, salt, baking soda, and black pepper. Or place them into the kitchen aid bowl and mix on low until thoroughly combined. Remember to give it a little stir with your rubber spatula before you add the wet ingredients.  This will ensure everything has been well mixed.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the olive oil and eggs.  Slowly blend the wet ingredients into the almond flour mixture with a handheld mixer until thoroughly combined, then stir in the scallions.

Scoop 3 Tbsps into each of the prepared muffin cups, then press 1 Tbsp of goat cheese into each muffin. I used the 1 Tbsps measuring spoon and stuffed it full of goat cheese. Then knocked the goat cheese out and placed it – with a little pressure – into the middle of the batter. 

Bake for 20-25 minutes – mine were done in 18, so check them around 15 minutes – until a toothpick inserted 1/2 way from the edge of the muffin and the goat cheese comes out with just a few moist crumbs attached.

Let the muffins cool in the pan for 20 minutes, then serve.

Makes 10 cupcakes

Serve with scrambled eggs, as an appetizer, or eat them on their own.

Store them in an air tight container, or ziplock bag, in the refrigerator.

~*~*~

Enjoy!

Share with me

