General

Mint Berry Cucumber Smoothie – Dairy free, Gluten-free

Okay, if you are like me your first thought when you read this title was  “I like cucumbers. I like mint. But together?” It wasn’t until I saw Holly, The Healthy Everythingtarian,  on New 3 This Morning, that I was convinced to try it.

So this morning I got up and went straight to the kitchen.  I chopped, gathered, and blended. I also doubled this recipe so I could share it with my family.  If I was going to try something new, so were they! 😉 Let me tell you though, it was Delicious!

The smoothie was refreshing, fruity and you couldn’t tell it had veggies in it!  My 6-year-olds, and my husband, went ga-ga over it!  My daughters don’t like lime, so I omitted it, and loved the end results.

I am keeping this recipe close for a quick pick-me-up, or just for a quick refreshing drink in the afternoon.

It is a must try!

Here it is; my notes are in italics:

Mint Mixed Berry Cucumber
Holly, The Heathly Everythingtarian

1/2 cup milk – We used Rice Dream Vanilla Milk
1/2  cup vanilla Greek Yogurt – We used 6oz of Yoplait Vanilla; omit for dairy-free or try with an alternative yogurt
1 to 1 1/2 cups frozen mixed berries
Juice of 1 lime – omit if you are not a fan of limes
1/2 cucumber, peeled & diced – When I doubled the recipe, this was the only ingredient I did not double.
6 to 8 mint leaves

In a blender, or food processor, place all the ingredients. Blend until smooth. Serve in your favorite cups!

Makes 1 to 1 1/2 cups. Place leftovers in the fridge, in the blender.

*This recipe can be doubled to make 5-8oz drinks.

~*~*~

Enjoy!

Share with me

