Baking

“Scrumptious Sandwich Bread” – Gluten-Free, Grain Free

I have become fascinated with Elana Amsterdam’s cookbook the Gluten-Free Almond Flour cookbookOne of her recipes is for Scrumptious Sandwich Bread, it sounded so delicious I had to try it! Because of our families diet, our bread needs a bit more fiber in it than most, so I had to add some.

Here is Elana’s recipe, my notes are in italics:

Scrumptious Sandwich Bread
Elana Amersterdam, the Gluten-Free Almond Flour cookbook

3/4 cup creamy roasted almond butter, at room temperature – we used Skippy Creamy Peanut Butter
4 large eggs
1/4 cup blanched almond flour – We used Bob’s Red Mill for this recipe and found the texture slightly gritty. Next time, we will either make our own or return to Trader Joe’s brand.
1/4 cup arrowroot powder – we didn’t have arrowroot, so we substituted equal parts of Tapioca Flour.
1/2 tsp sea salt
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 Tbsp ground flax meal
1 Tbsp coconut flour – we added this for extra fiber.

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350*. Grease a 7″ x 3″ loaf pan with grapeseed oil – or Crisco – and dust with almond flour.

In a large bowl, mix the almond butter with a handheld mixer until smooth, then blend in eggs. We used our KitchenAid to help with this and blended the peanut butter on med-high for approx 2 minutes and added 1 egg at a time. 

In a medium bowl, combine the almond flour, arrowroot powder, salt, baking soda, flax meal and coconut flour.  Blend the almond flour mixture into the wet ingredients until thoroughly combined. The dry ingredients will turn a very pale yellow when everything is mixed together.  Pour the batter into the loaf pan.

Bake for 40 to 45 minutes on the bottom rack of the oven, until a knife inserted into the center of the loaf comes out clean. Let the bread cool in the pan for 1 hour, then serve.

We used 3 mini loaf pans and baked them in a convection oven at 325* for 20 minutes. The loafs turned out wonderfully and they are the perfect size for my daughter at school.  We did cut one loaf sooner than an hour and the bread held up really really well and tasted great! We stored two of our mini loaves according to Elana’s note (see below) and wrapped one in wax paper and aluminum and froze it. 

1 Regular loaf contains approx. 12 slices.

Note for Elana: “After the [bread] cools, wrap the bread in a paper towel, place in a resealable plastic bag, and refrigerate… [T]hey will keep up for six days” (the Gluten-Free Almond Flour cookbook, page 26).

17 thoughts on ““Scrumptious Sandwich Bread” – Gluten-Free, Grain Free

  1. I love this bread and have already made it three times, I like the texture and am happy that it only uses 1/4 c of almond flour. One thing tho, what can be done to give it more moisture, should I add some almond milk or some Grapeseed oil, have you experimented with these things? This is my favorite bread because I don’t like the ones made with too much almond flour. Thanks

  2. Yes I would love that, maybe we can add some almond milk, if I don’t drink some tea with it, I choke, not good.

  3. Voiletsme – As the original recipe did not call for this, I believe you may be right. I know I have mentioned being able to retry this recipe and post on my findings, but some unforeseen circumstances have arisen that has prevented this. If you try the recipe without the flour, please let me know if it is in fact the culprit.

  4. What I did yesterday is add 2 tblspns of apple sauce and I usually only bake mine 35 min at the most at 330 degrees, it makes it more moist, this is the best it’s ever tasted. Thanks for keeping in touch, Barb

  5. J, please let me know if that works for you. Also, I if your oven runs hot, try baking it at a lower temp and less time in the oven. This has worked out the best for me and after the toothpick test, it is just right for my oven. Keep me posted.

  6. J, if you have any new recipes for bread, please let me know, I don’t particularly like the taste of coconut flour in bread recipes, that’s why I keep baking the Scrumptious one.

  7. Sounds good, no I cannot eat any sourdough bread, gives me stomach cramps and also I stay away from yeast due to having had candida and eczema in the past, I wish doctors would have figured out the gluten relationship to rashes, it could have saved me a lot of anguish and pain from itching my ankle to bleed but now that I’m on the Paleo plan, I have less issues. Thanks for the emails, will talk to you again in a few months.
    B

  8. Thanks for sharing the recipe! It sounds delicious!
    I have a question: Can you substitute a different kind of flour for the almond flour? If so, what kind would you recommend? In addition to being gluten-intolerant, I am also really sensitive to almonds. Thanks!

  9. Barb –

    Some sourdough breads that are commercially produced contain bakers yeast, or active dry yeast. As a result the bacteria, attracted by the yeast, has not had enough time to break down the gluten in the flour. In real sourdough breads a wild, or purchased, starter is used, allowing the bacteria attracted by the yeast to break down the gluten in the dough over a prolonged rise time (24-48 hours). This makes the minerals and vitamins of the grains used more readily available for our bodies. According to a 2010 group of researchers, when the dough is allowed to rise for 48 hours, the total gluten content was degraded to <10ppm during the fermentation stage; thus "rendering the presence of gluten undetectable and safe even for those with celiac."* In the study children with documented celiacs consumed the bread for 60 days and showed no signs of damage or reaction*. There were further studies done for breads made in kitchens producing gluten bread studying cross contamination, and they found that the total gluten was reduced to <20ppm,* making it acceptable for gluten-sensitive people. For a sourdough starter, made from gluten-free grains (oats, brown rice, etc.), this process is a lot quicker, since the main bread is normally prepared with gluten-free grains; thus, a rise time of 12-36 hour can be used without worry of gluten.

    The most important part though, is that you know your body better than anyone else, so if you were diagnosed with celiacs, trust what your body tells you.

    This may be something to consider in your future endeavors.

    ~*~*~

    *Source: The Vintage Remedies Guide to Bread by Jessie Hawkins – Di Cagno R, Barbato M, Di Camillo c, Rizzello CG, alt. Gluten-free sourdough wheat baked goods apear safe for young celiac patients: a pilot study. Pediatr Gastroenterol Nutr. 2010 Dec; 51(6):777-83.

    The Vintage Remedies Guide to Bread by Jessie Hawkins – Di Cagno R, Rizzello CG, alt. Use of selected sourdough strains of lactobacillus for removing gluten and enhancing the nutritional properties of gluten-free bread. J Food Prot. 2008 July; 71(7): 1491-5.

  10. Hi Jessica! Wow, that is a great question! If it were me, I think I would try a flour blend that I use for other things. You might also try a finely ground rice flour or oat flour. I would also use one egg at a time until the dough has the consistency of bread batter, as the 4 eggs might be to much. Please let me know how this turns out! Best of luck!

Share with me

