Baking

Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins – Gluten Free, Grain Free


The first time I tried this recipe, it wasn’t lemony enough for my family. So I made it again, this time with agave, more lemons, and some vanilla protein powder. I have to admit, I am not a huge fan of agave syrup, I have never quite cared for the taste, but to be honest, I liked the the taste better than the first batch I made (where I used honey instead). For your convenience, I have included both recipes: Elana’s and the lemony version of her recipe.

Here is the Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins recipe from Elana’s Pantry, my notes are in italics.

Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins
Elana, from Elana’s Pantry

Ingredients:

¼ cup coconut flour
¼ teaspoon celtic sea salt – I used Morton’s Sea Salt
¼ teaspoon baking soda
3 eggs
¼ cup agave nectar – I used Orange Honey, cup for cup, because it was all I had.
¼ cup grapeseed oil
1 tablespoon lemon zest – I had 1 small lemon, so I added its juice as well.
1 tablespoon poppy seeds –  we didn’t have any so I omitted this.

  1. In a medium bowl, combine coconut flour, salt and baking soda
  2. In a large bowl, blend together eggs, agave, oil, lemon zest and lemon juice
  3. Blend dry ingredients into wet
  4. Fold in poppy seeds
  5. Spoon 1 tablespoon of batter into each greased mini muffin cup – for regular muffins, use 1 1/2 tablespoons
  6. Bake at 350° for 8 to 10 minutes
  7. Cool and serve
Makes about about 24 mini-muffins — or 12 regular muffins
These muffins were gone before I knew it! They were very good and stored for 2 days in a Tupperware on the counter. They have the potential to be frozen for future breakfasts or snacks.

~*~*~*~

Here is the adapted “for more lemon” version:

Ingredients:

¼ cup coconut flour
¼ teaspoon celtic sea salt – I used Morton’s Sea Salt
¼ teaspoon baking soda
3 eggs – we used duck eggs, but chicken eggs work just as well.
¼ cup agave nectar
¼ cup grapeseed oil
1 tablespoon lemon zest – Zest of 2 lemons, juice of 1 1/2 lemons
1 tablespoon poppy seeds –  we didn’t have any so I omitted this.
We added 1/2 Tbs of Vanilla Show Me the Whey Gluten Free Protein Powder and a cap full of Kirkland’s vanilla.

  1. In a medium bowl, combine coconut flour, salt, baking soda, and protein powder
  2. In a large bowl, blend together eggs, agave, oil, lemon zest, lemon juice, and vanilla
  3. Blend dry ingredients into wet
  4. Fold in poppy seeds – skip this step if you are not adding poppy seeds
  5. Spoon 1 tablespoon of batter into each greased mini muffin cup – for regular muffins, use 1 1/2 tablespoons
  6. Bake at 350° for 8 to 10 minutes
  7. Cool and serve
Makes about about 24 mini-muffins — or 12 regular muffins
The addition of lemon juice and zest definitely increased the lemon taste. The vanilla helped curb the “pucker” factor and smooth out the lemon taste. The protein powder did not change the texture of the muffins, but added the extra protein my family needs. The addition of duck eggs was strictly because we had them, and I was curious if they would “fluff” the muffins any more. They did not.
These muffins were delicious!! My family was very happy!
Share with me

